I love coming home to new books

 

New and secondhand books from Amazon!
 
I got home from my holiday late last night and before passing out in my bed I caught sight of the package my flatmate had left by the door. I did a quick amazon order before leaving so I knew I had something to come back to! These have been on my mental wish list for a while after reading a few Lisa Jewell and Liane Moriarty books and being recommended We All Looked Up when I finished Station Eleven. So, what I ordered:

We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

Before the asteroid hit we let ourselves be defined by labels: the athlete, the outcast, the slacker, the overachiever. But then we all looked up and everything changed.

So begins the blurb of this book… And I read the entire thing in the voice of Mathew Bayntun, who currently stars in the Sky drama You, Me and the Apocalypse. A program I would heartily recommend. I love a good apocalypse story and flu and asteroids are my favourite of the genre (I’ll go with zombies under special circumstances). The End Of The World Running Club, set in asteroid ravaged Britain, was one of my favourite books of 2015 and I’m looking forward to a slightly more teenage take on the apocalypse.

The Making Of Us by Lisa Jewell

Lydia, Robyn and Dean don’t know each other- yet. They live very different lives but each of them, independently, has always felt that something is missing.

What they don’t know is thatbanletter is about to arrive that will turn their lives upside down. It is a letter containing a secret – one that will bind them together, and show them what love and family and friendship really mean…

I’ve talked already about my love for Lisa Jewell and I like the fact that this version of the book includes a bunch of extra author stuff. I haven’t looked through it yet, because no doubt it contains spoilers, but I like those extras. 

The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty

Over seventy years have passed since sisters Rose and Connie Doughty found an abandoned baby near their home on the island Scribbly Gum. With no one to take care of it, Rose and Connie took the baby in as their own. Since then the ‘Munro Baby Mystery’ has brought fame and fortune, putting Scribbly Gum on the tourist map, especially for the island’s annual celebration.
But now, with Connie dead and outsider Sophie Honeywell about to move into her home, Rose begins to wonder if they made the right decision all those years ago. How much longer can they cover up the lie that has sustained their community for generations? And what other secrets are about to be revealed?

I love Liane Moriarty’s books. They’re like a twist on every genre I love. This one in particular struck me because it reminded me somehow of Angela Carter’s Wise Children. I’m sure it’ll be completely different (unless circuses and geriatric incest are a new common theme) but it was nice to be reminded of one of my favourite books from school.

Finally… The House We Grew Up In by Lisa Jewell

The Birds seem to be the perfect family: mother, father, four children, a picture-book cottage in the country. But when something happens one Easter weekend, it is so unexpected, so devastating, that no one can talk about it.

The family shatters, seemingly for ever. Until they are forced to return to the house they grew up in. And to confront what really took place all those years ago.
 I’ve already started this book and relate to one of the main characters far more than I’d probably like. Like most of her books there’s a lot of teasing over events in the past and I imagine it’ll be a while before I find out what really happened. But I’ll enjoy discovering it!

Leave a Reply

