The Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft

 

The Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft (the perils of eBooks, not having photos!)
 
I read The Girl With No Past as part of Bookouture’s Thriller week. I love trying to figure out what’s going on in a book (and usually failing) so the idea of Leah running from her past intrigued me. I’m usually much more of a fan of hard copy books than ebooks (being able to take them to work with me) but on holidays I’m all about being able to take more books with me so Bookouture’s Thriller range was perfect!

I think Kathryn Croft did well differentiating between young Leah and adult Leah. I could tell the difference in voices which I think is hard to do without sounding trite.  My one issue was it was sometimes difficult to tell time periods at the beginning of chapters, but I soon got used to it.

As for the plot… The twist in the story definitely got me. I was so hung up on the prologue that I missed any other clues as to Leah’s past so I certainly didn’t see it coming! I do love a good twist and this one certainly came as a shock to me. There were a lot of red herrings, and a lot of importance placed on things that later turns out to be less relevant than you’d think. It was a good way of catching the reader out.

I also liked some of the ambiguity in the plot around the past. We don’t fully know what happened that night, and I personally think it’s better that way. We know as much as Leah witnessed, as much as she blames herself for, as much as I really think she’s culpable of (even if the burden rests heavier on her shoulders). I particularly liked the fact that it’s not clear whether the things Leah blames herself for are the same things that other blames her for. We can only speculate.

So overall I really liked the book. It’s a cheap read on amazon and if you fancy an easy to read, not to easy to guess, thriller then pick it up!

Leave a Reply

