A spooky delivery

 

Thank you @Alison_edits!
 
I was going to post something different today (a sort of metaphorical scream about how I need to organise my books better and stop almost buying the same books twice) but then I went to the post office and picked up a parcel!

While I was away I entered a Twitter competition run by @Alison_edits and, thanks to a lot of useless book knowledge acquired while at uni, I won! By strange coincidence I had actually been debating buying one of the books I won that very morning so I’m glad I held fire!

  
Now, here’s the weird thing. I hate ghost films, and horror films… I can’t even do mild children’s horror. But I love horror books. Ghost stories. Thrillers. And I am so looking forward to this one. A haunted hotel? My worst nightmare on screen, my biggest dream in print. It sounds so good.

  

Have you ever seen a more beautiful book? I’m so excited for this one, predominantly because I’ve just opened it up to the contents page to find that there’s a PG Wodehouse ghost story. Could there be anything more perfect?

 

In a dark, dark wood there was a dark, dark house.

I like that this reminds me of one of my favourite books as a child (Funnybones) but I doubt it will when I start reading it! As someone who has a very healthy relationship with my best friends (We’re far too honest with one another to come close to toxic!) I’m interested in this one, a book about how female friends can hurt one another. It has all the markings of a story I’m going to love and I’ll definitely be reading his one before the year is over!

So, thank you @Alison_edits for my favourite delivery for a while! 
 

 

One thought on “A spooky delivery

Leave a Reply

