New book spotlight: thrillers and whodunnits

  

Kill Your Friends caught my eye recently after watching the trailer; it looks like the kind of film I’d be excited to watch but instantly regret. Being the gutless coward I am. I hadn’t even realised it was based on a book by John Niven until I happened to walk past it in the supermarket. For anyone who hasn’t seen the trailer:

Meet Steven Stelfox. 

London 1997: New Labour is sweeping into power and Britpop is at its zenith. A&R man Stelfox is slashing and burning his way through the music industry, fuelled by greed and inhuman quantities of cocaine, searching for the next hit record amid a relentless orgy of self-gratification.

But as the hits dry up and the industry begins to change, Stelfox must take the notion of cut throat business practices to murderous new levels in a desperate attempt to salvage his career.

England in 1997 was kind of my fascination when I studied politics, which is probably a big odd because the only thing I remember about England in 1997 is pretending to be a witch in the front garden and running for the ice cream man. My politically it seems very sordid, and musically it was great. Combine that with a thriller plot and I’m sold!

As for Hidden by Emma Kavanagh, I find the idea of a thriller about a gunman in the UK, written by someone who previously trained firearms officers, to be fairly fascinating. I’m not even sure why, perhaps morbid curiosity. The book description says:

HE’S WATCHING

A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He’s unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently. 

Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman – before it’s too late.

SHE’S WAITING

To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety – both for her, and her young niece who’s been recently admitted. She’s heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he?

As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman’s next target will be. But he’s there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks…

I’ve just finished The Last Anniversary so I think Hidden will be my next read!

Leave a Reply

