The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty 

  
My first post of 2016! I finished this on the train home from Brighton yesterday, which meant that I read a grand total of 58 books in 2015. I’ll post a bit about my reading resolutions in another post, but regardless I’m pleased to have beaten my target by six books!

I’ve made no secret of my love of Liane Moriarty books. This is the fifth one I’ve read (and I have the sixth on UK preorder!) and I loved it just as much as the ones before. The Hypnotist’s Love Story revolves around Ellen, a hypnotherapist, her boyfriend Patrick and his stalker, Saskia. Part of the story focus on Ellen’s new relationship, as well as her fascination with the idea of Saskia. The rest is Saskia’s narration as we start to realise just how close she is getting to Ellen and why she can’t let Patrick go.

I find Liane Moriarty’s books very easy to read (given free time I could finish 400 pages in a day easily). I think it’s partly because the way she approaches her stories is so tongue in cheek, even when she’s writing about some very dark subjects. There’s an important message in The Hypnotist’s Love Story, about the nature of grief and loneliness, and the treatment of male domestic abuse (while Saskia is never violent it is clear that Patrick’s story isn’t taken seriously enough and Liane Moriarty drives that point home). But also taking the time to talk and understand one another and the motivations that drive us.

I did my usual when reading one of Liane Moriarty’s books and cried in the train home while reading it; she has a fantastic way of making even the most flawed characters sympathetic and human. I’d thoroughly recommend this one, like all her others.

Leave a Reply

