Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

  
I love a good YA dystopian novel. I even quite like a bad one. Cecelia Ahern’s YA debut is an outstanding one. 

I used to buy my mum a Cecelia Ahern book for her birthday every year, just in time for our family holiday (the only time she ever gets to read). Shockingly, I’ve never read any of her books myself until now.

The concept is less extreme than other YA dystopias out there: The Guild and the Whistleblowers hunt down anyone in society who is ‘Flawed’, people who have committed no crimes but have been deemed to have made ethical or moral decisions that are wrong. Found guilty in a non-criminal court they are branded in one of five places and released back into society to live a plainer life with minimal prospects a different rules. International travel is still permitted for the non-Flawed, society is less closed off than in other books I’ve read, but I think it works well. There’s the sinister undertone that other countries may soon adopt the Flawed system and that The Guild is working outside of the control of the government. It feels as though it’s building up to more, so I’m pleased to see that it’s the first in a series!

It was nice to see a diverse range of characters, and the story is within their relationships and changing attitudes to the unfairness in society, rather than gratuitous violence or unplotted action. It’s well written, believable and I’m already looking forward to the sequel!

I received an early copy of Flawed through Netgalley. Flawed is released in April 2016.

One thought on “Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

  1. The concept of this book sounds pretty cool and different from books I’ve read. I think it is an interesting idea that the flawed individuals are people who made wrong moral or ethical decisions. I may actually order this one! Thanks for the review šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

