Cure for Madness by Jodi McIsaac

  
Jodi McIsaac’s A Cure for a Madness was an interesting take on, what is almost but not quite, an apocalypse story. It’s partly a story about what might be in the age of international tensions and scientific meddling, partly a story of family and the things we do for the people we love.

Clare has spent most of her adult life distancing herself from her family, including her schizophrenic older brother Wes. But when her parents are murdered by an old friend she returns to Maine to take guardianship of Wes and the up their loose ends. Slowly she begins to realise people are acting strangely; hospitals are filling up and violent crime is swiftly on the rise.  Soon it is revealed that a fast spreading, uncurable disease is the cause. The government announces a state of emergency… and they want Wes.

I thought Clare’s moral dilemma was well written and her choice ultimately believable. There was enough excitement to keep me hooked while I was in the treadmill (balancing my kindle very carefully!), but enough character development to make it a satisfying read.

If I had a criticism… And I’m not sure it even is a criticism… Is that I would have loved the ending to have been longer. It’s subtle, and slightly heartbreaking, but I had to read it twice to confirm that it was as sad as I first thought. Even just a few pages would have made it a solidly great ending, in my opinion.

I received a copy of A Cure For Madness through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

