The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  
This was one of those books that I wanted to read before the film came out and, despite being a fairly thick book, I got through it pretty quick! It falls under that category of Young Adult dystopian books that tend to make pretty good film franchises so I’m looking forward to that too.

I liked the switching narratives and the fact that each character had a very different idea of what was going on. It was fairly easy to piece together what was happening, which meant that I spent a lot of the novel waiting for the characters to catch up, but the plot wasn’t as convoluted as other Young Adult dystopian series I’ve read in the past (ahem, The Maze Runner). It flowed well.

One of the main things that struck me was how well a male author wrote a female main character. Not to assume that men can’t write teenage girls, but the way Cassie was written was so different to the way I’ve seen teenage girls written before. She was in equal parts cranky, sympathetic, terrified and brave. She was also concerned about her dwindling supply tampons, which I really appreciated as an aside. It’d be what I’d be worried about after the apocalypse. After any promises to my siblings.

I wasn’t enamoured with the romance aspect of the plot, but that may change in the rest of the series. Which I immediately ordered!

One thought on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

