Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  

My best friend insisted I read this one before the film came out and I’m glad she did because I’ve been meaning to read this one for ages! The book revolves around vintage photographs sourced by the author (with credits for the collections they came from at the back) and a mysterious home for strange children off the coast of Wales.

I’ve never been much of a fan of fantasy books and really, there has to be something slightly more to them for me to pick them up. So the inclusion of the photographs really got me involved in the story. I loved how well they wove in to the plot and the extra dimension of being able to see the strange characters involved.

As for the plot itself I’d say it’s definitely one written for children as well. I am half tempted to tell my nine year old sister to read it next. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it! I liked the little world that Ransom Riggs has created, including the monsters and the myths. It wasn’t overly complicated but it also felt original. 

I’ll have to read the next books and see the film!

One thought on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

