Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling


I will preface this by saying that I am eternally mystified by the hype around Harry Potter. If it’s your thing, great, but I kind of feel like I grew out of it round about Goblet of Fire.

That being said I didn’t hate this one. It was sweet and nostalgic and what I kind of wish the Harry Potter books had stayed like (ostensibly for children). I had a few issues going in to the second chapter but actually, I dare say I enjoyed reading it. I still don’t get the hype, I may not read the rest of the series, but it was a sweet little book. I feel like I liked the dialogue more than the narration and that the characterisation of adult characters was a lot better than the children (which in a way makes me want to read the adult books she wrote under a pseudonym).

Overall, I still don’t care what Hogwarts house I’m in, but yes, I enjoyed it.

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling

  1. I am totally with you here! Harry Potter seemed pretty good when I read it as a child – though I really struggled to get through the 600 page epics (does she realise she’s writing for children?) – but in hindsight it really wasn’t the great. I didn’t realise she’d written adult books under a pseudonym so maybe I’ll check those out. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

