Exit, Pursued By A Bear by EK Johnston


This beautiful book well and truly ruined me for almost a week. It was a risky premise, I think, about a cheerleader who is raped at camp and has to deal with the fallout in all areas of life. But EK Johnston pulls it off by making the story less about the act itself, and more about the relationships Hermione has and how they work against the strain.

It was another book with a strong LGBT undertone, as well as a focus on female friendships. Hermione does have to deal with her relationships with her ex boyfriend and her male teammates, but it is her relationship with her best friend that is the main focus.

I really, really loved this book. It didn’t feel like Young Adult fiction, although you could argue it is, and it was a calm and emotional take on the subject matter. It wasn’t gratuitous, which I liked, and it dealt with many different emotions in a thoughtful way. I was drawn in, I felt for Hermione and her triumphs rang very strong for me.

One thought on “Exit, Pursued By A Bear by EK Johnston

  1. I definitely agree that EK Johnston did a really good job in terms of focusing on Hermoine’s relationships. The book almost made me cry, and that doesn’t happen often.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

