My Diverse-A-Thon TBR pile

So, next week (12th-19th September) is the Diverse-A-Thon, started by Booktubers to promote diversity in reading and publishing. I’ve seen a lot of talk on Twitter about the subject recently and I wanted to join in for two reasons: partly because I want to support people who, unlike me, don’t see themselves mirrored in characters and authors on a large scale but also because I’m trying to become more aware of the scope of my reading. In 2015 I made sure to read more women than men authors… But I still feel like I could be going much, much further to support authors and stories that feature diverse, representative characters.
So, my list this week:

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filar

This one was one of my favourite books I read in 2014, about a boy with severe mental health problems after the death of his brother. As I’ve read it before it’ll be one of the last ones I read this week but I’m hoping to get around to it!

Witness the Night by Kishwar Desai

This one is written by Indian author Kishwar Desai and set in Punjab. It’s been on my shelf for a few years now (in fact on the bookcase that I had to clamber over to reach) but I’m excited to finally get round to reading it.

The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly by Sun-Mi Hwang

I recently read The Dog Who Dared to Dream practically in one sitting in the bag and loved it so I just had to include another of Sun-Mi Hwang’s stories in this list. I’ve read a few books by South Korean authors this year so I’m excited to read another.

The Brief and Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

I originally read this book back in 2010 during university and I remember loving it, but it’s been so long that it’s kind of faded from my memory. Junot Diaz, like Oscar Wao, Dominican and writes about the struggles of growing up as part of an immigrant family in America.

Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

I haven’t read a graphic novel in years so now seems like the perfect time to. Persepolis, written by Iranian-French author Marjane Satrapi, shows life for a young Iranian girl after the 1978 Islamic Revolution.

The Way Things Look To Me by Roopa Farooki

As far as I can tell this book has a claim to diversity on two fronts; the blurb leads me to believe that one of the main characters is autistic, although I can’t be sure yet. In any case Roopa Farooki is originally from Pakistan and her characters share that heritage.

And finally…

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse-Anderson

I love Laurie Halse-Anderson and I actually started reading this some time ago but got distracted by the summer holidays. The Impossible Knife of Memory centres around living with PTSD, both as a sufferer and a loved one.

What are you reading this week?

2 thoughts on “My Diverse-A-Thon TBR pile

  1. Persepolis is SO GOOD! I hope you love it! Have you read either of Junot Diaz’s short story collections? I loved Oscar Wao but loved the short stories more! Adding the rest to my wish list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

