The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner


I reviewed The Kill Order– the prequel to this series- earlier on in the month, but the series itself didn’t fit in to my plan until day nineteen of Blogtober. I’m following along a YA dystopian theme for the next few days!

Thomas wakes up in a box with no memory of who he is or where he comes from, surrounded by boys of various ages in a walled off field. They explain that they have all come here one by one, with no memories, and have figured out that they are in a maze. Later, the first girl arrives along with a note that says that she will be the last. Thomas and his new friends must find their way out of the maze and discover what the world has become outside.

I have very mixed feelings towards The Maze Runner series as a whole. I enjoyed it, but there were a lot of moments where I had absolutely no clue what was going on. Mainly moments to do with telepathy. I just don’t get why that was a vital plot point when the story could have worked perfectly fine without it. I didn’t like that bit.

However, other than the telepathy, I really enjoyed the rest of the books. They’re a bit confusing, but there characters are likeable, there’s a fair amount of drama and I do love a good end-of-the-world story. 

Leave a Reply

