The Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie


This is an exciting one for me because the Matched trilogy was the first YA dystopia I ever read. It follows on quite nicely in my YA portion of Blogtober for day twenty. I originally found Matched in a shop called Sussex Stationers in Maidstone- long before it became The Works- and it blew my mind that books about dystopias could be written for people my age. I’m not even sure why, it seems silly in hindsight.

Matched deals with a society where, at seventeen, children are matched with their perfect partners in a long-awaited ceremony. Cassia is matched with her best friend, Xander, but a glitch also matches her with outcast Ky. In a world where literature has been carefully stripped away, dissent is swiftly dealt with and civil servants are closely observed, Cassia struggles with the knowledge that her match might not the person she is destined to fall in love with.

I’ll be honest, I may be a bit sentimental about this series for the above reasons. It’s not the best YA dystopia out there, but I still loved it and read it all the way to the end. There’s a lot of rather soppy romance, quests to find the forbidden written word and futuristic technology in their way. As a series it’s slightly cheesy, but I still really love it.

3 thoughts on “The Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie

Leave a Reply

