Frankenstein by Mary Shelley


Another classic for day twenty seven of Blogtober and now I’m getting closer to Halloween I’ve picked one of the original science fiction horror novels.

I really loved Frankenstein when I read it at school. I think it was partly the teenage me loving the idea of a young woman writing one of the first science fiction novels, but it’s also a beautifully written book. I loved the middle section where the monster narrates and talks about life as an outcast. In fact I loved the structure as a whole; the idea that this scientist is found near death in the snow and talks about how he is hunting down the beast he created. It’s very gothic, obviously.

Leave a Reply

