Read the World Project


I’ve been thinking this week of a long term project to broaden my reading horizons. @NinjaBookBox introduced me to Book Voyage UK, a book subscription service that sends a book from a different country every month. I immediately signed up, of course, but it also got me thinking. Could I read a book from every country in the world? I mean, of course it’s possible, but could I do it within a certain time limit? Say, before I’m thirty?

So, this weekend I made a list of every country, dependent territory and annexed territory I could find online, with a few extra entries for Native people and people without states- my politics degree and a particular political interest in marginalised groups within nation states helped here. I’ve tried to think specifically rather than broadly- for example I’ve broke down the United Kingdom in to its deprecate four countries because otherwise it’s likely that ‘British’ would, by default, become’English’. Likewise, I’ve created a separate entry for Quebec and Catalonia from Canada and Spain for reasons of nationalism; the latter presumably don’t represent the former in culture and fiction. 

So far my list consists of about 250 entries, although I imagine it will grow naturally over time (for example, I’ve just now asked myself ‘should I create a separate entry on my list for Turkish Cypriot and Greek Cypriot?‘). I turn thirty in May 2021, which gives me approximately four and a half years. Achievable? I think so.

I’ll be using the hashtag #readtheworldproject on Instagram and Twitter, should anyone feel inspired to join me, or be interested in simply keeping tabs. I’m going to be reading a variety of books, from fiction and memoirs to short stories and poetry, so if anyone has any recommendations then please get in touch!

7 thoughts on “Read the World Project

  1. This is an amazing idea and project – I’m really looking forward to reading about it!

    I wish I would read enough to join you, but you’ve definitely inspired me. I might even make a list myself and at least read a few books a year for the list.

    I can’t wait to read how you’re getting on and what you will think of the books. Good luck and enjoy!

    Like

    1. I’m doing it based on where the author is from! Preferably when the book is set there too- so far I’ve read a couple by authors who were born in a country and moved to America and their books are set in their home country AND America, for example. But that’s really my rule haha, I’m making it up as I go along! It’d be great to have you join in! Bex is too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

