#NotYourPrincess ed. by Lisa Charleyboy and Mary Beth Leatherdale


#NotYourPrincess is a collection of stories, essays, poetry, art and photography that aims to show what life is like for Native women living in America. It’s a short book- only 112 pages- but it packs a powerful punch. This was one ARC that I was very excited to be approved for. I have #NotYourPrincess on preorder already (and I really think that reading it on my kindle did not do it the full justice it deserves- I’m very excited to see that art and photography in print proper.) and have heard great things about it already.

The book contains variety of styles, my favourite being the ‘visual scrapbooks’ illustrated by Sierra Edd containing poetry and shorter thoughts about life and childhood as a Native woman. Each piece of writing is interspersed with artwork and photographs; there’s a fantastic number and range of contributors to this book. 

For an Own Voices review of #NotYourPrincess I’d like to point you in the direction of my friend Weezie’s review. I can’t personally speak for the quality of representation for Native woman myself but I trust the opinions of Native reviewers who I have seen applauding it so far.

#NotYourPrincess is released on 12th September in the US and 10th October in the UK and I would urge you all to preorder it. It’s a beautiful book that gives a voice to a group of women that have so often found their words ignored.

(TW for suicide, self harm, abuse and death)

One thought on “#NotYourPrincess ed. by Lisa Charleyboy and Mary Beth Leatherdale

  1. This sounds very interesting and informative, so I might have to add it to my birthday list. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything about Native people – be it fiction, non-fiction, own voices, or incredibly poor rep – so it would be good for me to expand my reading. Thanks for highlighting this and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Charlotte @ Bookmarks and Blogging

    Like

Leave a Reply

